

MembershipWhat's HappeningCommitteesPublicationsAssembly CommissionGeneral InfoJob OpportunitiesHelp

**7 NOVEMBER 2007** 

**COFMDFM 10/07** 

## CHAIRPERSON TO ATTEND CHURCH SERVICE MARKING THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE ENNISKILLEN REMEMBRANCE DAY BOMBING

The Chairperson of the Committee for the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister, Mr Danny Kennedy MLA, will attend a church service in Enniskillen Presbyterian Church tomorrow, Thursday 8th November 2007 marking the 20th anniversary of the Remembrance Day bombing. The service has been organised by church ministers who had members of their congregations killed in the bomb in Enniskillen on Remembrance Sunday 1987.

The Chairperson, Mr Danny Kennedy said:

"I have been invited as Chairperson of the Committee which will scrutinise proposals emanating from the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister on dealing with Victims and Survivors and I am honoured to attend in that capacity.

"This is a pastoral and spiritual service and is designed to bring further help and healing to those who have suffered. In my capacity as Chairperson I feel it is important to show my support."

Notes for Editors

The Committee for the Office of First Minister and Deputy First Minister is one of the statutory committees established by the Northern Ireland Assembly on 9 May 2007.

A motion was approved in the Assembly on Tuesday 12 June 2007 proposing that the committee's name be changed from the Committee of the Centre to the Committee for the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister.

The role of the Committee as set out in Standing Orders for the Northern Ireland Assembly is "to advise and assist the First Minister and the deputy First Minister in the formulation of policy with respect to matters within their responsibilities as Ministers jointly in charge of the Office of First Minister and Deputy First Minister."

Committee Membership: -Danny Kennedy, Chairperson Naomi Long, Deputy Chairperson Martina Anderson Tom Elliott Dolores Kelly Barry McElduff Francie Molloy Stephen Moutray Jim Shannon Jimmy Spratt Jim Wells

The church service has been organised by the Reverend David Cupples Minister of the Enniskillen Presbyterian Church.

All enquiries regarding the work of the Committee should be directed to the Committee Clerk: -Christine Darrah Room 242, Parliament Buildings Tel: 028 9052 1629

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Northern Ireland Assembly Information Office: -Room B2, Parliament Buildings Stormont, Belfast BT4 3XX Tel: 028 9052 1137

HomeToday's BusinessQuestionsOfficial ReportLegislationSite MapLinksFeedbackSearch